

#### OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION

# MINUTES OF THE JUDICIAL BRANCH AND ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE COMMITTEE

# FOR THE MEETING HELD THURSDAY, JUNE 12, 2014

#### Call to Order:

Chair Janet Abaray called the meeting of the Judicial Branch and Administration of Justice Committee to order at 12:31 p.m.

#### **Members Present:**

A quorum was present with Chair Abaray, Vice-chair Fischer, and committee members Batchelder, Curtin, Jacobson, Kurfess, Mulvihill, Obhof, Saphire, and Wagoner in attendance.

#### **Approval of Minutes:**

The minutes of the May 8, 2014 meeting of the committee were reviewed and approved.

### **Discussion:**

Chair Abaray opened up the discussion by noting the recent ruling of United States District Court Judge Susan J. Dlott in favor of the state in a 2010 case filed by the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, the Ohio Democratic Party, and three people who, at the time, were judicial candidates. The ruling upheld Ohio's system of having judicial candidates run as Democrats or Republicans in primary elections, but then stripping them of partisan labels in the general election.

Committee member Richard Saphire read through his handout on judicial selection and the committee discussed the various parts of it.

Steven C. Hollon, executive director of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission, explained to the committee that, once staff is assembled, informational packets will be put together to better assist with each committee as they move forward. He noted that he plans to meet with committee clerks to discuss their role.

Senator Larry Obhof read through a memorandum prepared for him by the Legislative Service Commission regarding obsolete provisions of the Ohio Constitution. The committee proceeded to discuss the memo.

## **Adjournment:**

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 2:04 p.m.

### Approval:

The minutes of the June 12, 2014 meeting of the Judicial Branch and Administration of Justice Committee were approved at the September 11, 2014 meeting of the committee.

/s/ Janet Gilligan Abaray
Janet Gilligan Abaray, Chair
•
/s/ Patrick F. Fischer
Justice Patrick F. Fischer, Vice-chair